Planning Ahead

To help you plan ahead, we try and give parents as much notice as we possibly can of key dates in the school academic year, including holidays. However, please note that some of these dates may be subject to change, and when this occurs we will endeavor to provide you with notice via the school website and/or email where we can. Not all school events are included here.

Access the School Calendar here  

Below are the dates for the school holidays. Please plan your family holidays around these dates, as any time missed from school is extremely detrimental to your son or daughter’s progress. The governors of the school will not authorise holidays taken outside of these dates and we do, therefore, ask parents to support us in ensuring maximum attendance. Please contact the school if you feel there are special circumstances to your request for holidays outside of these dates.

Leave of Absence Request

Holidays

Autumn Term

Thursday 1st September - school reopens

Thursday 22nd September - Open Evening (school closes at 1pm)

Friday 30th September - Year 10 Immunisations

Friday 7th October - Year 10 Immunisations

Friday 14th October - Years 7 to 10 Behaviour for Learning reports issued

Wednesday 19th October - Year 11 Review Day and Trackers issued

Wednesday 19th October - Year 7 Form Tutor Review Evening

Friday 21st October - school closed for staff training

Monday 24th October to Friday 4th November (inclusive) - school closed for half term break

Monday 7th November - school reopens

Wednesday 9th November - Year 11 Parents' Evening

Thursday 24th November - GCSE Presentation Evening starts at 7pm

Wednesday 7th December - Year 7 Behaviour for Learning reports issued

Friday 9th December - Year 8 Review Day and Trackers issued

Monday 12th December - Year 9 Review Day and Trackers issued

Wednesday 14th December - Year 10 Review Day and Trackers issued

Wednesday 21st December - Year 11 Review Day and Trackers issued

Thursday 22nd December - school closed early (1pm) for Christmas holiday

Spring Term

Tuesday 3rd January, 2017 - school reopens

Friday 3rd February - Careers Fair

Wednesday 8th February - Year 7 Behaviour for Learning Report issued

Wednesday 8th February - Year 7 Parents' Evening

Thursday 9th February - Years 8 to 10 Behaviour for Learning Reports issued

Friday 10th February - school closed for staff training                           

Monday 13th February to Friday 17th February (inclusive) - school closed for half term break

Monday 20th February - school reopens

Monday 27th February - Year 11 Review Day and Trackers issued

Wednesday 1st March - Year 11 Parents' Evening

Monday 6th March - Year 8 Options Evening starts at 7pm

Wednesday 15th March - Year 8 Review Day and Trackers issued

Wednesday 15th March - Year 8 Parents' Evening

Friday 17th March - Year 7 Review Day and Trackers issued

Tuesday 21st March - Year 8 Review Day and Trackers issued

Wednesday 22nd - Friday 24th March – School Production: Musical Madness

Friday 24th March - Year 8 Options Form deadline for return

Tuesday 28th March - Year 9 Review Day and Trackers issued

Thursday 30th March - Year 10 Review Day and Trackers issued

Friday 31st March - school closed (after school) for Easter holiday

Summer Term

Tuesday 18th April, 2017 - school reopens

Wednesday 19th April - Year 10 Parents' Evening

Wednesday 26th April - Year 9 Parents' Evening

Monday 1st May - school closed for Bank Holiday

Friday 19th May - Years 7 to 10 Behaviour for Learning Reports issued

Monday 29th May to Friday 2nd June (inclusive) - school closed for half term break

Monday 5th June - school reopens

Thursday 8th June - Sports Day

Monday 12th June to Friday 23rd June - internal end of year exams

Monday 12th June - Year 6 Meet the Tutor Evening; Australasia at 5pm; Africa at 6.30pm

Tuesday 13th June - Year 6 Meet the Tutor Evening; Europe at 5pm; Asia at 6.30pm

Wednesday 14th June - Year 6 Meet the Tutor Evening; South America at 5pm

Tuesday 27th June - Year 10 at Runshaw College

Monday 3rd July - Year 7 Review Day and Trackers issued

Tuesday 4th July - Year 11 Prom

Thursday 6th July - Year 8 Review Day and Trackers issued

Thursday 6th July - Key Stage 3 Presentation Evening

Friday 7th July - school closed for staff training

Monday 10th July - Year 10 at Wigan and Leigh College

Monday 10th July to Friday 14th July - Learning Challenge Week

Wednesday 12th July - Summer Concert

Monday 17th July - Year 9 Review Day and Trackers issued

Wednesday 19th July - Year 10 Review Day and Trackers issued

Friday 21st July - school closed (at 1pm) for Summer holiday

Holidays 2017 - 2018

Autumn Term

Friday 1st September, 2017 - school closed for staff training

Monday 4th September - school reopens for students

Monday 23rd October to Friday 3rd November (inclusive) – school closed for half term break

Monday 6th November - school reopens

Friday 22nd December 2017 - school closed (after school) for Christmas holiday

Spring Term

Wednesday 3rd January, 2018 - school reopens

Friday 9th February - school closed for staff training                      

Monday 12th February to Friday 16th February (inclusive) - school closed for half term break

Monday 19th February - school reopens

Friday 23rd March - school closed (after school) for Easter holiday

Summer Term

Monday 9th April, 2018 - school reopens

Monday 7th May - school closed for Bank Holiday

Monday 28th May to Friday 1st June (inclusive) - school closed for half term break

Monday 4th June - school reopens

Friday 6th July - school closed for staff training

Friday 20th July - school closed (after school) for Summer holiday